Talk on W J Wainwright

Monday 6th June, 1pm, Birmingham Midland Institute (see here for details)

WILLIAM JOHN WAINWRIGHT R.W.S., R.B.S.A. (1855-1931). In 1928, the Royal Birmingham Society of Artists presented the first exhibition in its long history consisting entirely of the work of a living member. The artist was W.J.Wainwright and he was also the Society’s first president elected from its own membership. This illustrated lecture will convey the main events in the life of this significant Birmingham figure, who was honoured in his lifetime, but who is now not widely known.

Aileen Naylor received an M.Phil from the University of Birmingham after completing her thesis, Simeon Solomon’s Work before 1873: Interpretation and Identity (2010), supervised by Dr Tricia Cusack. Aileen recently joined the R.B.S.A. Archive Team, composed primarily of volunteers, and is currently researching W.J.Wainwright.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Talk on W J Wainwright

  1. Catherine Lander

    Dear Aileen
    I have a painting by WJ Wainwright. It was one that hung in my Grandparent’s house onand passed to my Father and now to me, It is a profile view of a young girl. I believe it is watercolour. My grandfather was (I believe) a member of the Society of Artists having been to Birmingham art school and later worked in the Jewellery quarter. I would be interested to know more about the painting.
    yours
    Catherine

  2. Aileen Naylor

    Dear Catherine,
    Thank you for your response. Your painting sounds very interesting and I would be happy to let you know anything that I have found out about it. If you e-mail the RBSA at rbsagallery@rbsa.org.uk and leave your name and e-mail address for the attention of Aileen Naylor, the receptionist will forward it to me and I will contact you. Mention that it is in connection with Wainwright. I look forward to hearing from you.
    Best wishes,
    Aileen

Leave a Reply

